The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023: Everything you should know

Spread the love
The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023: Everything you should know
The Vijay Hazare Trophy, India’s premier domestic ODI competition, is scheduled to begin play on November 23.
The teams are split into five groups, so there will be no shortage of superstars from within India competing in this tournament.
Saurashtra, the current champions, will do everything in their power to retain their crown this year.
All the information you require prior to this season is provided here.

Locations and dates of the competition
As previously stated, the competition will start on November 23.
There will be five groups comprised of 38 teams. Groups D and E consist of seven teams each, while Groups A, B, and C each have eight teams.
Six cities—Bengali, Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Ranchi, and Ahmedabad—will host matches for the competition. The locations of all knockout games are Ahmedabad.

The round-robin method
In the League stage, teams from the same group will play each other once.
Every group’s top two sides will move on to the next round.
The group stage will be followed by two semi-finals, four quarter-finals, and three pre-quarterfinals. The top contenders will then  determined to square off in the summit match on December 15, 2023.

Observing the groups
Kerala, Mumbai, Pondicherry, Odisha, Railways, Saurashtra, Sikkim, and Tripura comprise Group A.
Group B consists of the following states: Vidarbha, Meghalaya, Hyderabad, Maharashtra, Manipur, Jharkhand, and Services.
Group C: Delhi, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Karnataka, Mizoram, Chandigarh, Haryana, and Jammu & Kashmir.
Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, and Andhra Pradesh make up Group D.
Group D: Bengal, Baroda, Goa, Nagaland, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, and Punjab.

Previous Vijay Hazare Trophy winners
The competition began in the 1993–94 season, and teams competed within their zones until 2001–02, when there were no finals.
The 2004–05 season saw the introduction of the playoff finals, which continue to this day. Last season, Saurashtra won their second title after defeating Maharashtra in the finals.
With five titles, Tamil Nadu is the most successful team overall.

Stats from the Vijay Hazare Trophy that are unique
Although they have made it to the final seven times in the tournament, Tamil Nadu has won the title five times.
Bengals finished fifth five times, but they did win the championship in the 2011–12 campaign.
In the 2020–21 season, Prithvi Shaw amassed the highest run total by a player in single season with 827.
In List A cricket, Jagadeesan’s 277-run innings hold the record for highest score.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *